Klostgergut Jakobsberg is centrally located in one of the most beautiful landscapes in Germany - the Rhine Valley between Koblenz and Mainz. Nevertheless, it allows a quick escape from the busy city into the enchanting, unspoilt nature. Discover the romantic valley of the legendary Loreley with its numerous castles lining the Rhine, which has been an UNESCO World Heritage Site Upper Middle Rhine Valley since 2002.
Against a beautiful backdrop, the Jakobsberg Monastery Estate offers you a wealth of opportunities for your active or wellness holiday. Relax with an 18-hole round of golf on one of the most beautiful golf courses in Germany or learn to play under the guidance of our trainers, led by PGA-Pro André Müller.
Our conference hotel offers with its 7 conference rooms the ideal space for up to 200 people for relaxing and busy stays. 3 restaurants and numerous sport and wellness offers provide the necessary supporting programme for your congress.
Emperor Frederick I. called Barbarossa, confirms the foundation of a monastery on the Jakobsberg in a document dated 15 April 1157. A deed from 1262, from King Richard of Cornwall, confirms the annual wine donation of Boppard from the royal vineyard.
Around 1450 the monastic community was abandoned. Several attempts to resume monastic life failed due to the hard living and working conditions. Contemporary witnesses reported on the "wasteland of the place", on the threat of robbers and lamented that no "missionary ideal" could be realized here.
The Archbishop of Trier wants to renew the monastery. However, it will not be given to nuns as usual but to the crusaders. These are a religious order of the former crusaders. They are spread all over Western Europe and founded twelve monasteries in the Rhineland in the 15th century.
Already after 50 years the crusaders capitulated on the Jakobsberg. In 1552 it was said that the difficulties resulting from the loneliness of the place were too enormous to maintain a "missionary ideal". The property was sold again.1650 the entire possessions were sold to the Jesuits in Koblenz.
Pope Clemens XIV dissolves the Jesuits. The property goes to the grammar school in Koblenz. During the French Revolution in 1792 the farm is confiscated and serves as an "ecole secondaire" - an educational institution.
The estate is privately owned. The former tenant Ferdinand Sommer is the new owner in 1891. The oldest photograph from 1896 shows the former monastery estate still in good structural condition and as an intact agricultural enterprise. But in the following years the farm disintegrated more and more.
Dr. Hans Riegel, entrepreneur from Bonn, bought the property. The buildings were renovated, restored in the old style and rebuilt - all in accordance with the preservation order. While preserving the architectural character of the old farmhouse, he developed one of the largest and most beautiful hotel complexes on the Rhine.
The Jakobsberg golf course is opened. In 2000 the hotel is certified with 4 stars by the classification commission of the German Hotel and Restaurant Association.
The entire hotel complex is carefully and unobtrusively brought up to the latest standards in design and equipment. Based on the unique art concept, the theme areas "Hunting", "Benetton", "Montgolfière" and "Africa" were created.
Royal wine was not only available on the Jakobsberg during monastic times. Even today we are proud owners of a vineyard owned by the hotel and members of Mittelrhein Wein e.V.
Our vineyard is managed by the Boppard winegrower Walter Perll. He laboriously nurtures the vines, produces the wine and bottles it. The result: a 100% regional, dry Dornfelder from environmentally friendly cultivation.
After the destruction of the monastery chapel by French troops at the end of the 18th century, it is being reconstructed from fragments of the late Gothic original and according to historical models.
Today you can find there an original preserved baroque altar with panel painting and sculpture of St. James. Equipped with unique Benetton iron sculptures, the chapel is now used for weddings or church celebrations and can accommodate about 50 people.
On all other days the chapel is open to visitors.